Sometimes it’s easy to be… a woman

I just read this article that appeared on the MSN homepage. It says that the modern male is more adept at ironing than he is at changing a plug or, god forbid, getting his togs greasy by looking under the bonnet of a car. I was worried, but not for the reasons suggested here. I’m comfortable with my inability to effectively put up a set of shelves or change a starter motor. I’m even okay with my steadily increasing use of moisturiser. No. What really scares me is the fact that I went to see the Sex And The City Movie yesterday.

And I liked it.

Surely it is my duty as a red-blooded hunter-gatherer to despise this pink, fluffy, talcum-puffed lump of cocktail-soaked femininity. Surely I should have sat there shouting, "So where’s the bloody sex then!" at the screen, all the while remarking on ways in which they could all solve their problems by dropping their careers and hitting the kitchen, like that dark-haired one with cute behind – Charlotte. She’s got the idea.

But no, I empathised with them, wishing them well in their quest for love and security alongside their handbags and credit cards. To my shock, I even felt a tear forming in the back of my eye at one point. I batted it away. I had brought the lady along with me so I would be able to tell friends that I was only there because she had wanted to see it. My other excuse was that I HAD to see it because of work – this review in fact. I was covered.

As the review says, there is a lot to criticise about the SATC project. By the time I sat down to write it, I had recovered some of my hairy-chinned cynicism resolving to give it three stars out of five. And it was lucky not to have been given two. The reality was though that, whilst watching Carrie, Miranda, Samantha and Charlotte, my metrosexuality had reached new heights. I had been entirely suckered into a state of unwitting faux-femininity by these bastions of designer clothing and pink champagne. It was a catastrophe.

Some masculine therapy is required: beer, football, more beer and a violent movie. Then maybe I’ll go really nuts and try changing that plug…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sometimes it’s easy to be… a woman

  1. Unknown says:

    If it makes you feel any better.  I\’m a woman and I hated SATC.  I\’ve never had to sit through girlfriends moaning about their successful careers, loving partners and hours of great sex for two hours before so the film was a real eye opener.
     
    Luckily I can change a car wheel, rewire a plug, tile a bathroom and fit a ceiling light so I\’ll swap you.  Your female time for my blokey bits.  It all kinda evens out.  Go watch Ironman and Indiana again this week, you\’ll feel alot better.

  2. chloe says:

    lol. bummer!  hmm, i am pretty much the pink fluffy type myself !  but, to be honest, no-one could keep it up all the time!  if you see somthing like that again, rember somwhere a lil plastic-y girl in in you! lol.
     
    Xx-BoW-xX

  3. Unknown says:

    wow gold Store Welcome you! Look
    here to Buy World Of Warcraft Gold,
    Cheap WOW Power
    Leveling, Buy cheap WOW
    PowerLeveling, World Of
    Warcraft Power Leveling, World Of Warcraft
    PowerLeveling on Sale with Fast Instant
    Gas Detector Systems
    Co Detector – Gas Alarm Systems provide Co Alarm systems for Alcohol
    Tester, Breathalyser,Breathalyzer,[Alcohol
    Tester,carbon monoxide more.
    我们专业生产各类汽车,摩托车用减震弹簧,发动机汽门弹簧,弹簧及各种数据恢复,RAID数据恢复,压簧,拉簧,扭簧,矩形弹簧,方弹簧等。
    升降机的历史:升降机最早是使用人力、畜力和水力来提升重量。升降机直到工业革命前都一直依靠这些基本的动力方式,后来慢慢演变出升降平台,升降平台,登车桥等。
    苏州市液压升降机有限公司是有多年的液压机械的专业制造厂家,现已发展成为国内主要的液压升降平台制造企业。公司主要产品有升降台、升降机、铝合金升降机、高空作业平台等。

  4. Graham says:

    I\’m afraid I must be old male macho school.  I fix things, build things and assume that guys who watch SATC or similar or agree with feminine points of view are more or less incompetent with the factual/physical world – feining some feminine credentials for cover.  A much beter reason for plying the touchy feely feminine side is to ingratiate oneself with the opposite sex – I\’m please to say that it usually works pretty well.

  5. Olivia says:

    Ummmm hello? There seems to be a rather generalistic concensus here that you must either be a gruff, hairy man who can put up shelves or a mincing mummys boy who can\’t.  And only one of those would watch SATC.  Also, that when it comes to chicflics we expect a man to hate it and a woman to love it.  Personally I think we all need to stop being so defensive and accept that some women are handy with the DIY and some aren\’t.  Some men can watch \’girly\’ stuff without feeling weird about it and some can\’t.  I\’m female and yes I enjoyed SATC but I can also (shock horror) re-wire a plug!! I can\’t stand gossip magazines and I hate most romcoms and never read chic literature. So it IS possible to be both. I don\’t like stereotypes, I personally prefer the type of man who has the \’manly\’ skills to complement my \’girly\’ ones. And I don\’t mind admitting that.  So lets stop saying that all SATC fans are shallow fluffy bunnies who have nothing but air in their heads and any female who doesn\’t like that show is automatically less feminine.  Let\’s stop saying that if a man is masculine he is a chauvanist monster who pats women politely on the head and expects them to enjoy cooking.  Each of us has a bit of it all.  No name (old male macho school guy) I think you were a little harsh saying that a guy who agrees with a feminine point of view is less competent than you! Are you saying you\’ve never agreed with a female point of view? I\’m sure you\’re not.  Ok so I\’m rambling now, typical female eh? ; )  but what I\’m  basically trying to say is, don\’t lump all SATC fans into one idiotic group, don\’t lump all masculine guys into another group and don\’t lump any woman that didn\’t like SATC into another.  Can\’t we all get along??  

  6. Directory says:

    Thank Zii:-For the Great topic!Oh Pl visit http://www.uoha.com on August 1st and tell us what you think, your opinion will be appreciated:- 

  7. Unknown says:

    读《.九.评.共.产.党》 做.三.退.保.平.安 全.球.退.党.热.线.电.话:001-416-361-9895 邮箱:tuidang@epochtimes.com (请使用海外邮箱和破网软件配合发送.三.退.声明)更多请访问 美好未来 获取破网软件

  8. Unknown says:

    Welcome to enter (wow gold) and (wow power leveling) trading site, (wow gold) are cheap, (wow power leveling) credibility Very good! Quickly into the next single! Key words directly to the website click on transactions! -40403877889356

  9. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need digital signage, digital sign, ad players and ad displays? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.

    amberdigital Contact Us
    E-mail:sstar@netvigator.com
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[adhcffabdfgied]

Leave a comment